Beauty and the Beast Review

Beauty and the Beast is my favourite Disney princess film so when I heard they were doing a live-action remake, I was a bit sceptical.
Belle is my favourite Disney princess so, not gonna lie, I was a bit sceptical of Emma Watson too.

However, I’ve got to say…  I was amazed! I’m going to do my best not to give away any spoilers but come on, it’s Beauty and the Beast. If you’re thinking of seeing the re-make I’m going to assume you have seen the cartoon!


The animations of the entire film were spectacular – Disney Animation (and budget) at its finest! I don’t know the ins and outs of animation but it really was breath-taking how it all flowed together.
The best example of what I’m explaining (or trying to), is the Be Our Guest segment. The colours, the music, the dancing – lots of pizzazz! I had that feeling, you know when you watch something and instantly want to applaud…that’s how I felt. Except I didn’t cus you know, I’m in a quiet cinema full of strangers, but my automatic reaction almost took over.

Another thing I enjoyed was that you were given the backstory of a few questions you might have had after watching the cartoon (no matter how many times you watch it). I.e. you learn what happened to Belle’s mother, and a few other things. I really liked this because it just gives the story a bit more depth and you can relate to the characters more.

Lastly – the actors. Emma Watson was a fab Belle. I didn’t know she could sing which was a nice surprise. I mean, obviously she could sing if she was cast as Belle but in general it was a surprise.
Loved the guy who played Gaston (Luke Evans), I liked the comedy that was brought to the role – t’was a good touch!
There were quite a few good comedy lines actually. My favourite kind of films are those which incorporate comedy somehow but the whole film isn’t a comedy – if that makes sense. So although the comedy wasn’t a regular feature, it was a welcomed feature nonetheless 🙂
Speaking of comedy (again), two of my favourite characters are Lumiere (Ewan McGregor) and Cogsworth (Ian McKellan). Love the bickering between these 2, gives the right split between serious-romance and comedy. Plus, Ewan McGregor does a fab, or excellenté perhaps, French accent.


So that’s my informal review of Beauty and the Beast, if you haven’t seen it yet then I’d highly recommend! Especially if you’re a fan of the original cartoon, or even if you’re just curious as to how they’ve made the film.

To keep up to date with new posts, be sure to follow me on:
Twitter: @GlamourReel
Instagram: @TheGlamourReel 

Contact: glamourreel@gmail.com

Leave a Reply

