The Truth About Uni | Accommodation

This is the second post in our blog series – The Truth About Uni
To see the first post where I gave a bit of background to my uni, my course etc, click here – The Truth About Uni | Why I Chose Everything

So this post, as you may have gathered from the title, is about accommodation. Now, if you’re here for advice about halls, I’m gonna have to direct you to one of the other lovely ladies in this series (links will be below). This is because I live at home.
In this post, I’m just going to give some pros and cons about living at home while being a student.

I decided to stay at home because:
1) I only applied for universities in my city
2) I didn’t want to move out – to put it simply!

PROS OF STAYING AT HOME WHILE STUDYING

  • It’s A LOT cheaper – no expensive rent, no council tax, TV license, water bills etc etc.
  • If your friends are still at home then it’s easy to catch up with them.
  • You know your city, you know what’s what and where’s where (hopefully).
  • Living with your parents/family means extra support for you . It’s great to just come home and relieve some of my stress to my mum. I mean, she’s probably losing the will to live but it makes my will a bit stronger!
  • It’s easier to hold down a part-time job/get one because you won’t have to put in for so much holidays to go back to your home city.

CONS OF STAYING AT HOME WHILE STUDYING

  • You miss out on A LOT – halls parties, freshers events in the halls etc – obviously you can go if you want to but 1) you need someone’s hall to go to & 2) you have to be willing to get to the halls on your own and home on your own.
  • It’s slightly more difficult to make friends because a lot of people make friends in the halls so you have to work a little bit extra to find your ‘clique’.
  • You don’t really have to be that independent while staying at home so when I move out I’m going to have to learn how to adult a bit later than some people.

So that’s the pros and cons that I can think of when you stay at home.
I don’t regret staying at home. I didn’t and don’t feel ready to move out and I like having extra money that I wouldn’t have if I moved out. Also, none of my friends have moved away so we all still see each other quite regularly.

If you have any questions about living at home then leave a comment below or email me at – glamourreel@gmail.com

Here’s the links to the other girls in the series:
AnnaleidJasmineSaffronToriKatherineJenBecky

To keep up to date with upcoming blog posts and general life stuff, follow me on:
Twitter: @GlamourReel
Instagram: @TheGlamourReel

Thanks for reading,
Sophie xx

2 thoughts on “The Truth About Uni | Accommodation

Leave a Reply

