Truth About Uni | Relationships

As you may have gathered, the next post in our uni blog series is RELATIONSHIPS

I am really lucky in the fact that none of my old school friends moved away for uni/college. But, that doesn’t mean it hasn’t been incredibly difficult to see them as often as I used to.
It’s just so hard to have everyone’s schedules match up at the same time!!

For obvious reasons, the most difficult time to see my friends is around exam or essay time. I literally don’t see anyone during these times. However, even if you’re not seeing your friends, it’s so important to keep in touch with them! This is where you maintain your Snapchat streaks, constantly tag each other in memes, and Whatsapp is your new best friend.
During stressful times like these, I’m lucky in that I do have some great uni friends. I am part of a law project at my uni so every week I see my friends from there, and during lectures me and my friends get to share the stress together (lucky us).

However, it hasn’t all been plain sailing…I have lost a couple of friends along the way. Although I don’t think this has got much to do with uni, just general life and people changing, I guess.

The best advice I can give you: have a group of friends that understand the stress and pressure you’re going through. That way, you’re all in the same boat and no one gets annoyed when you can’t make the meet-up.

Now, for anyone wondering why there’s no mention of a romantic relationship, there’s not one. And if I’m being completely honest I don’t know how I’d make time for one. Yeah it’s fun chatting to some people on Tinder etc. But when it comes to essay and exam time, like I said before…I see no one. And I think this would make it really difficult for me to have a relationship. However, if something were to happen then yeah I’d give it a go…my boyfriend would just need to understand that my uni work comes first!

So that’s all I’ve got to say about relationships at uni. Like I said, even when you’re busy try and just check in with your friends, see what everyone’s up to and try and arrange a time for you to meet up when everyone is over their stressful period.

Have you had any relationship issues while being at uni? Let me know in the comments below…

Check out the other lovely girls I’m doing this series with:
KatherineSaffronJasmineAnnaJen

To keep up to date, follow me on:
Twitter: @GlamourReel
Instagram: @TheGlamourReel
Email: glamourreel@gmail.com

Thanks for reading
Sophie xx

4 thoughts on “Truth About Uni | Relationships

  1. I 100% agree with it being hard if friends don’t understand your work load! I’ve even found it to be an issue with people in uni, that their course has less or they do the bare minimum! Also, it’s so true about being in a relationship around exam time, way too busy to hang around🙈

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Since being at uni I’ve pretty much lost all contact with my friends back home, they don’t really understand the pressure or commitment needed for a degree. I spent my first year single but I went into my second year in a brand new relationship (well we weren’t quite together when I first started second year but we were after a couple of weeks) and honestly it was long distance which made everything harder and in the end it broke down because we couldn’t make the commitment to see one another regularly.
    Alicia x
    http://www.aestheticobsessed.co.uk

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

